Brief Introduction And Structure Of The Microsoft.NET Framework 4

The .NET Framework 4 provides a comprehensive development platform that offers a fast and efficient way to build applications and services. Using Visual Studio 2010, developers can use the .NET Framework 4 to create a wide range of solutions that operate across a broad range of computing devices. The .NET Framework 4 provides three principal elements: the CLR, the .NET Framework class library, and a collection of development frameworks.
The Common Language Runtime
The .NET Framework 4 provides an environment called the CLR. The CLR manages the execution of code and simplifies the development process by providing a robust and secure execution environment that provides common services such as memory management, transactions, interposes communications, multithreading, and many other features.

The .NET Framework Class Library
The .NET Framework 4 provides a library of reusable classes that developer can use to build applications. The classes provide a foundation of common functionality and constructs that help simplify application development and remove the requirement for developers to reinvent constantly logic. For example, the System.IO.File class contains functionality that enables developers to manipulate files on the Windows file system. Besides using the classes in the .NET Framework class library, you can extend these classes by creating your own libraries of classes.[adsense]

Development Frameworks
The .NET Framework 4 provides several development frameworks that you can use to build common types of applications. These frameworks provide the necessary components and infrastructure to get you started. The development frameworks include:

  • ASP.NET. Enable you to build server-side Web applications.
  • WPF. Enable you to build rich client applications.
  • Windows Communication Foundation (WCF). Enable you to build secure and reliable service-oriented applications.
  • Windows Workflow Foundation (WF).